Skip to content

Samsung 50E vs 50S: same format, different duty

Two 21700 cells from the same family, close in capacity and far apart in current. This is the clearest example in the catalogue of a trade-off that is decided by the application, not by the data sheet.

In short

The 50E is the energy variant: about 4,900 mAh minimum capacity at 9.8 A continuous discharge. The 50S is the power variant: about 5,000 mAh typical at 25 A continuous, with a 6 A charge rating. For a storage or long-runtime pack the 50E is the right cell; for traction or tools the 50S is, because 9.8 A per cell is not enough current for those duties.

At a glance

50E and 50S, side by side

Every figure in this table is traceable to a model page or a manufacturer document. Where a value is not published in the source we hold, the cell says so rather than carrying a plausible-looking number.

Attribute 50E 50S Note
Model INR21700-50E INR21700-50S
Format 21700 21700
Capacity 4,900 mAh minimum 5,000 mAh typical
Nominal voltage 3.63 V 3.6 V
Continuous discharge 9.8 A 25 A
Max charge Not stated in the source we hold 6 A
Mass 69.5 g Not stated in the source we hold
Cycle life 500-cycle rating stated Not stated in the source we hold
Provenance Pending — no manufacturer data sheet on file Pending — no manufacturer data sheet on file

Why the same capacity can carry 9.8 A or 25 A

Capacity is set by how much active material sits in the can. Current capability is set by how easily charge moves in and out of that material, and by how much heat the design can tolerate while doing it. A power variant uses thinner electrodes and a more porous separator so ions travel a shorter distance, which lowers resistance and allows more current — at the cost of a little active material and, often, some cycle life.

That is why the two cells look almost identical on a capacity table and completely different on a current table. Choosing between them from capacity alone is the most common selection error in this class.

The arithmetic that settles it

Take a 48 V, 20 Ah pack with a 30 A continuous load. Thirteen in series, four in parallel, so each cell carries 7.5 A. The 50E at 9.8 A covers that with margin and gives up nothing — the 50S would be paying for current the pack never uses.

Now take a 48 V pack for a light traction application drawing 80 A continuous. At 4P, each cell carries 20 A: the 50E is outside its rating, the 50S is inside it. The decision is made by the parallel count, and the parallel count is usually flexible — adding a parallel group can let a cheaper cell do the job, at the cost of more cells and a bigger housing.

The provenance caveat on both

Neither Samsung SDI model has a downloadable manufacturer data sheet in the public domain, and we hold none on file. The figures above come from public sources and are marked pending on this site rather than presented as verified.

That does not make them wrong, but it does change how you should use them: as a shortlisting input, not as a design input. Before the first prototype, get the figures confirmed against a manufacturer document through your supplier — including the cut-off condition attached to the 25 A and 9.8 A ratings, which is not captured in the summary figures.

Where each one belongs

ApplicationCell that fitsReason
Residential storage module50ELow C-rate, capacity per cell and cycle count dominate
UPS / backup unit50EShort high-current events, long idle periods
E-bike or scooter pack50SContinuous 15–25 A per cell is normal in a 3P–5P pack
Professional power tool50SRepeated bursts and fast charge turnaround
Long-runtime portable equipment50EEnergy per kilogram decides the product

Rule of thumb: if the pack is designed around runtime, start with the energy variant; if it is designed around power, start with the power variant.

Questions about this comparison

Is the 50S simply a better 50E?

No. It carries more current and slightly more capacity, but power variants typically give up some cycle life and cost more. In a low-current application the 50E is the better engineering choice, not the budget compromise.

Can I swap a 50E for a 50S without other changes?

Electrically the swap is usually safe — same format, same nominal voltage, higher current capability. What changes is cost, and possibly the thermal profile at high current. It is the reverse swap, 50S to 50E, that is dangerous: the pack may then exceed the cell's rating.

Why are these marked pending?

Because no manufacturer data sheet is on file for them. The values come from public sources and are labelled pending rather than verified, so you know to confirm them before designing against them.

Which has better cycle life?

The 50E publishes a 500-cycle rating in the source we hold; the 50S does not publish a comparable figure there. Without matching test conditions a comparison would be guesswork.

Settled on a cell? Send the duty profile.

Give us the continuous and peak current, the envelope and the target cycle life. We will confirm what is obtainable and which documents travel with it.

Request a quote
WhatsApp